Skip navigation

At the new Simply Computing at Willowbrook Mall they have some used iBook G4s; like mine, except for a faster processor. Last I saw they were asking around $500 for them.

This is just another sign that I do not get the whole Mac/Apple mentality. When I saw that I said “you could get a cheap Dell with a better chip, bigger harddrive, and a faster processor for only about a hundred buck more…” and Paul replied “but it wouldn’t be a Mac.”

I like Macs. I like how they look, and once I remember how to use their software I like it as well. But not enough to pay that much more for a computer or laptop.

I’m not really a fangirl of any computer manufacturer or operating system. Sure, I have problems with Microsoft and Windows, and I think more people should be open to the idea of trying out open source software. But I’m not going to get in a knock-down, drag out argument about it.

(In my head I might think unkind thoughts, but that’s a character flaw I will never fix!)

Anyways, the point of this post: $500 for a 5 year old, underpowered iBook is insane.

2 Comments

  1. Used computers of any stripe always seem overpriced to me. Granted, I haven’t checked prices for a long time, but last time I looked at getting a cheap Intel/AMD notebook, the price seemed equally ludicrous.

    Personally, I don’t consider it insane, but a bit slimy on the part of the seller. The only people who will pay are the ones who don’t know better.

  2. True. I don’t think used computers are a good deal (unless they’re free, like the iBook!) either.


Comments are closed.

